What's New?

Follow Us on Facebook

Driving after Sunset - According to the National Safety Council (NSC), death rates are three times greater driving at night when compared to the daytime. Driving after sunset presents a new set of challenges to teenage drivers. The obvious challenges...
about an hour ago
A FEW MORE TIPS . . . Applicants for a learner permit must pass a two-part knowledge test and a vision screening prior to receiving a permit. Applicants must also prove State of Virginia residency, prove their legal presence in the United States, and...
about a day ago
Getting your license when you, Older than 19 years old. • Have proof that a state-approved driver education course was passed; or, • Have a learner's permit for at least 30 days before taking the DMV road skills test. What’s next? • Once the...
about 2 days ago
Requirements for the First License - Less than 18 years old • Be at least 16 years and 3 months old. • Complete a state-approved driver education course. • Have a minimum of 36 class periods of classroom instruction and 14 periods of in-car...
about 3 days ago

Visit Us on Youtube

Act Now to Become a Partner

No other hazard or behavior comes close to claiming as many teen lives as driving. Approximately 60 teens die each year in car crashes in Virginia.

Involved, informed parents have long been considered the most influential factor in promoting safe teen driving. The mission of Partners for Safe Teen Driving is to help communities develop a parent education program, so that parents can guide their children through the first perilous years of driving.

Many school divisions and communities in Virginia have partnered to develop Safe Teen Driving programs. Approximately 43 communities now require parents of teen drivers to attend a meeting. At this meeting, parents receive information about Virginia's graduated licensing procedures, current driving techniques, procedures for helping teach their children to drive, curfew restrictions, and more.

A kit with step-by-step information about how communities can start their own programs has been sent to every school division in Virginia. CLICK HERE for more information.

For more information about Partners for Safe Teen Driving, call (800) 609-2680.

Move Over Law

Traffic-related incidents continue to be a leading cause of death among on-duty law enforcement officers. Help to protect law enforcement officers and other first responders who are stopped on roadways by obeying Virginia’s Move Over Law.

If you are approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing; blinking; or alternating blue, red, or amber lights stopped on the road, slow down and move over. If you cannot safely change lanes, reduce your speed and proceed with caution.

To learn more about Virginia’s Move Over Law, visit Slow Down Move Over VA Code.

Headlines

Join us on Twitter

Virginia Drivers Training If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license, in-car driver's training a… https://t.co/FCJCYu4BUI
about 16 hours ago
This is Turkey Week ! Monitor your surroundings ! Watch out for kids as they run out side and play, and make sur… https://t.co/LOOQsyPR4H
about a day ago
This is Turkey Week ! Make sure to be mindful of the roads as it gets busy due to families coming in, Be sure to m… https://t.co/NOdTLIx8q7
about a day ago

What's New?

Follow Us on Facebook

Driving after Sunset - According to the National Safety Council (NSC), death rates are three times greater driving at night when compared to the daytime. Driving after sunset presents a new set of challenges to teenage drivers. The obvious challenges...
about an hour ago
A FEW MORE TIPS . . . Applicants for a learner permit must pass a two-part knowledge test and a vision screening prior to receiving a permit. Applicants must also prove State of Virginia residency, prove their legal presence in the United States, and...
about a day ago
Getting your license when you, Older than 19 years old. • Have proof that a state-approved driver education course was passed; or, • Have a learner's permit for at least 30 days before taking the DMV road skills test. What’s next? • Once the...
about 2 days ago
Requirements for the First License - Less than 18 years old • Be at least 16 years and 3 months old. • Complete a state-approved driver education course. • Have a minimum of 36 class periods of classroom instruction and 14 periods of in-car...
about 3 days ago

Visit Us on Youtube